Mini cherry clafoutis recipe

I can only eat cherries when they’re cooked.  It’s a sad part of oral allergy syndrome, associated with hay fever and causes itchy mouth, throat, lips and weirdly….ears. Once cooked, the allergens in the cherries break down and become inactive.  I also see the same effect with kiwi and nectarine but the list could get longer.  Being a self confessed foodie, this scares me slightly! I absolutely love cherries and luckily I can eat them cooked in a lovely dessert but I treasure my memories when I could eat cherries off the trees in the mountains in Morocco. 

So here is where the cherry clafoutis comes in. A wonderful French dessert that is so simple and I added a slight Christmas feel with cinnamon and nutmeg. The only catch for me is that I could only handle the cherries with gloves or else my hands become itchy too.

This makes 4 ramekins worth.

Ingredients

  • Approximately 30 cherries – halved and pitted
  • 1/2 cup of whole milk
  • 2 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 full egg and 2 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla essence
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup of flour
  • 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsb of nutmeg

Recipe

  1. Turn oven to 180C
  2. Whisk the eggs, salt, vanilla, salt, flour, milk, cinnamon and nutmeg for around 5 minutes until mixture thickens
  3. Butter the inside of 4 ramekins and set in a baking tray 
  4. Add 2 tbsps of custard mixture to each ramekin. This is to create a solid custard bases.
  5. Cook for 5 minutes and then spread the cherry halves between the 4 ramekins and sprinkle a little sugar over the cherries.
  6. Add the rest of the custard mixture to the ramekins and cook for 25 minutes.
  7. Once cooked, wait to cook and as an option, sprinkle some icing sugar over the top.

Lovely to eat hot, lovely to eat cold!

7 thoughts on “Mini cherry clafoutis recipe

Leave a Reply

