Jolly Gardeners review

As a treat for my Dad’s birthday, we decided to take him to Earlsfield, to the pub run by Dhruv Baker – a previous MasterChef winner.

Dhruv is known for his East meets West cooking style and so we were excited to try the food and booked a lunch, but unfortunately Dhruv wasn’t present.  However, the food was a great experience.

All three of us opted for different dishes for the starter: Prawn ceviche with chilli, coriander and coconut dressing, Spinach and ricotta ravioli, sage and Parmesan and then I went for the Ham hock terrine, with honey mustard dressing, frisse salad and toast.  I would’ve gone for the ceviche, but I’d had a meal at Ceviche, the night before!

The ham hock was as expected, but maybe one piece of toast too much, but was a perfect start to a meal.

Next up, were the main courses, of which my Mum and I went for the same dish of Pan fried sea bream, turmeric potatoes and coconut French beans and my Dad went for the lemon sole with butter potatoes, asparagus and a hollandaise sauce.  The sea bream was where we really saw the fusion food come to life with the spiced potatoes and coconut with French beans (which I’ve never heard of before!).  The meals were all delicious but I think we all agreed that portion size was a bit too much with a heavy dose of potatoes and vegetables and we all left something on the plate, meaning there was no room for dessert!

All in all, a lovely pub with a great outdoor area for the Summer.  I wouldn’t hesitate to revisit and try other options, but might skip the starter so I could sample a dessert instead maybe!

 

Leave a Reply

