Three Girls Cook supper club @ Bluebird

Any proper foodie loves a season of Masterchef.  Personally, I love the amateur version, to see someone really grow and blossom to become outstanding chefs.  So when I saw that Giovanna, Alison and Lorna had banded together to form ‘Three Girls Cook’ and that they were starting supperclubs, I knew I had to try my best to get involved!

I know my parents also love the show and we all loved the style of cooking from these three girls and so when the opportunity flashed up on Instagram, I was quick off the mark and booked three places for a lunchtime slot at Bluebird.  Notice I said Bluebird, so I had a slight hesitation as my last experience wasn’t great!

Nevertheless, I booked and kept an eye on instagram for any sneaky peeks at the food and menu.  We were promised English summer flavours on a plate, and they didn’t disappoint!

My parents were fresh off a plane the day before and we headed to King’s Road for our feast.  We were greeted with cucumber gin cocktails and then allowed to sit wherever we pleased.  One thing was guaranteed… everyone in the room was a Masterchef fan.  We swapped stories of other contestants, why we loved the show and our love of food.  It felt like a bit of a cult but without the killer kool-aid!

As we got to know each other, we were served some little picnic treats of cheddar beignets with pineapple chutney, rabbit an ham terrine and smoked mackerel pate.  Lovely little bits to whet our appetite!

canapes

Next came the starter, Crab roll with watercress and fennel.  An absolute delight, very light and full of flavour.  We were all wondering if the outside of the crab roll was bread or a batter, but it was delicious!

Image1017949585

Next, was my personal favourite dish of Barbecued lamb , lamb sausage, peas, mint, artichoke and goats curd.  The lamb was beautiful although we did have to wonder where the sausage was, but it was crumbled up and same went for peas and artichoke all blended in one place.  The goats curd was a lovely addition but was a little overpowering, with slightly less of this, it would have been perfect.  It was still my favourite though!

Image4624247

Between the lamb and the dessert, we were served a very cute tiny little ice cream cone with cherry ripple ice cream which had a lovely flavour but was a bit icy and more like a sorbet, but two bites and we all demolished it!

Image1787666801

I like my desserts but I don’t have a huge sweet tooth.  Whilst everyone else declared the dessert their favourite, I liked it, but the lamb won hands down.  At the end of the day, we were served Blueberry and lemon Eton Mess which was served with some lemon verbena.  It was a delicious sweet end to the night with some asking for seconds.  I would have loved a little bit more lemon to cut through the sweetness, but other than that it was lovely!

Image2004925326

I was thankful to be part of a special day with the girls coming out to say hello and being warm and friendly.  We felt we all knew them after watching the show and they’re just as lovely in person and I have a feeling that we’ll be seeing a lot more of them in the future and I wish them all the best with future supperclubs and whatever takes their fancy!

Leave a Reply

